Personal View site logo
SANITY 4 and 5.1
  • 1139 Replies sorted by
  • @bmcent1 Thanks for posting. That isn't the least bit subtle, is it? I haven't seen that on 5 yet but haven't taken anything with that dark a background either.

• Yeah, I'm pretty new to video and particularly to the GH2 so I don't know exactly what to expect, but it did surprise me. The brighter exposed shots looked really nice, but as soon as I closed the aperture down, the banding (if that's the right term) was pretty clear.

• @bmcent1 When you say banding, I assume you're refering to the dark horizontal bands. This has nothing to do with Sanity. This is typical of the GH2. It does this under certain conditions. You'll even see it in the uncompressed HDMI output. BTW, that's a mean looking mother...

• bmcent1 it's best to use ISO increments at the top, 160, 320, 640, etc.. so 200 ISO would be worse than 32O.

• Yes @Ralph_B, that's what I was referring too. In a way, sorry to hear it's the GH2 and not the settings ;) I know the scene was darker due to my aperture, but I was outside, middle of the day, in shade. I guess the only way to avoid those darker horizontal likes is to make a better exposure then darken in post if desired?

Funny, it he is mean looking, but it's mega magnification with the 150mm and ETC crop ... he's actually smaller than the lead point of a pencil and easy to miss with the naked eye!

Thank you islander, I will stick to those then!

• @Ralph_B That's interesting about the dark band I wonder if that's what I've taken as Vignetting in some of my lenses.

@islanders66 I thought the middle numbers were the quick way around the ISO bug?

• @peternap, yes to avoid ISO bug navigate with middle numbers from highest to lowest then go up to the top row. I just attended a workshop with DP for SNL and he explained the importance of using the increments of 160, 320, 640 etc. Kind of like using double the frame rate for shutter speed.