Personal View site logo
SANITY 4 and 5.1
  • 1139 Replies sorted by
  • @RandyCatanach - which version of Sanity do you use, and in which recording mode? Thanks.

• Some footage with Sanity 4.1 1080i. Color corrected

• Noob here. I finally took the plunge and hacked my camera... I think. I installed Sanity 5 and with 24H I'm getting 1:07 minutes of recording time on a 8GB card, and 2:45 on a 16gb. Those times tell me that the hack may not have stuck, or that it's still on 1.1 for some reason.

Are these recording times consistent with Sanity 5 and 24H, or what did I miss something during the hacking procedure?

I greatly appreciate any help

• @moondoggy

An empty 16GB card should show 53m 26s in 24H mode. I suggest you try again. In ptools, load the settings and then save the firmware. Don't do anything else. Also, I assume you haven't altered the ini file in a text editor (because you shouldn't).

• @mo7ies you know, i'm not really sure which version I've been using actually. I started using it around the time ptool got updated for the 1.1 update so I think maybe sanity v3.x. Maybe even v2.x actually. I usually use HBR or SH modes and occasionally use 24H or 24L.

@Ralph_B I just updated to 4.1 a couple days ago but I haven't been able to test it out yet because I've been sick. I noticed that v5 has a lower bitrate for HBR or 24H (I forget which). Is that only to stop write errors or is there another reason? Thanks.

• @RandyCatanach

Neither Sanity 4.1 or 5 produce write errors (assuming you use a proper card). Version 5 has a lower bitrate for 24H because that's all it needs to produce the same quality picture as 4.1. 5 runs more efficiently - you get more miles per gallon :)

• Can someone suggest an objective way to compare visual quality of the hacks?