Personal View site logo
GH3 rumors topic
  • 869 Replies sorted by
  • @shian I'm actually jealous of people who worked with 35mm. I'm 23 but I've worked with and hired people older than me who have grown up with 35mm and it's a whole new world in production with the way they work. One of the big things is getting it spot on perfect in camera because they were used to waiting a day for dailies and film cost a lot. No room for error one bit.

• I wonder; is the level of price gh2 after gh3?

• @shian I stand by what I say. I am a pro photographer that has work in raw for the last 7 years, I have started from the Nikon d70 to what we could call one of the finest ever RAW camera with a D800. True, that I haven't work with Raw in video, but from my experience working with digital file (more than fifteen years in advertising), I say that a 10 bit 422 log prores file will be enough for 95% of work.

I am starting to see again on BMC site people that are going to do the same error again and again. They will extend there budget to shoot RAW and pair it with some cheap sound recorder/microphone and no light just too succumb to the fab of RAW. If this gh3 is what it is strongly rumored, someone with a gh3 and 3 arri type freshnel or some kino type light, a mixpre-d and recorder with some good mic will be much better off.

• @danyyyel I agree, if that is their workflow they are mistaken. Poor sound and poor lighting is a recipe for disaster.

The GH3 will be a great camera. But as a colorist I was really bummed having worked with the BMD raw footage, to have to go back to the limitations of the GH2 footage. It just made me wish for a flatter image with more color depth out of my GH2 which I love. Or at least the option to have something similar in the GH3.