Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Official GX1 hack development topic
  • 363 Replies sorted by
  • @zws The GXI can be used with 3rd party batteries, I have bought a stack of 3rd party batteries and they all work, just not that long. If you mean you would like to use ptool with a third party battery that is a different story. While you could try it, the advice is TO USE ORIGINAL battery.

• Can the GX1 be upgraded to be compatible with the third party battery? Thanks. Wensheng

• OK, I just read all 9 pages of this thread and still have a few questions. My $199 GX1 should be here on Wednesday...excited for the stills portion. I've hacked my GH2 so I'm not a complete newb. Anyway:

-NTSC MP4 1920x1080 30p stock. Does the GX1 hack make the stock 30p a lot better or just a bit better. I shoot 99% butterflies and birds, both stills and video, that are just perched with little movement by the critters themselves. -NTSC AVCHD 1920x1080 60i hack. It sounds like the higher bitrate hacks work here but will I need to--I forget the terminology--strip out the 60i to get at it's true 30p?

Once again, I'm happy to stay stock if I wouldn't see a major return on the MP4 30p. I guess I might hack my GX1 if it was relatively easy to get at the 30p of the 60i, if I understand that correctly.

Anyway, excited to get the cam this week. It will become my dedicated insect cam mated to my Oly 60mm macro. Can't wait. Harold