Personal View site logo
Beginners: Basic hacks questions
  • 1012 Replies sorted by
  • @yrb can you describe what you mean by very cold conditions (like Toronto cold, or Winnipeg cold ;-). Gotta do some shooting this winter so would be good to know parameters if this is indeed a weather related problem. How long were you shooting for? Did you take any steps to gradually acclimatize the camera or did you go directly from room temp to outdoors? Thanks for any additional info you can provide.

• It was Montréal cold which for this week was pretty cold! But not extreme or anything, like -20 or so? I was out for about 45 mins or so with camera in bag, then about 20 minutes shooting and noticed the cam seemed to acting strange as soon as I started shooting, which was stills at the beginning then video. I took no steps to acclimatize the cam.

The weird thing is the problem persisting after having been indoors overnight... Worrisome!

• The LCD on my GH1 exhibits the same ghosting. It’s fairly sporadic, though. I don’t notice it all the time. The actual recorded footage is unaffected.

I don’t believe it’s temperature related, as I notice it even when the camera has been indoors for many hours. Actually, I’ve always treated it as a design deficiency of the LCD and never paid too much attention to it.

• Hi, I am wondering if anyone has come up with a satisfactory work flow for shooting 720p footage (for slomo) on the GH2 while using a monitor on the HDMI out to pull focus. I believe the HDMI out and recording still default to 1080i when a monitor is connected and/or recording is initiated. If that is still true, can anyone suggest how to work around this most efficiently to use an external monitor to pull focus. Is it simply a matter of turning off the monitor before dropping into recording? Thanks for the thoughts here! Cheers, David