Personal View site logo
GH2 720p50/60 and 1080i60 Settings
  • 254 Replies sorted by
  • @nomad

@duartix is right, "/" means "or".

However the main ProRes advantage over AIC is 4:2:2 chroma-sub, but GH2 support only 4:2:0 so I really don't know whether going for ProRes would be any better.

• AIC is an I-frame only version of MPEG-2. Not really optimized for space, speed and generational loss. Plus, once you do any grading, filtering or noise reduction to 4:2:0 footage, you can generate intermediate values which profit from 4:2:2 and 10 bit.

• I manipulate photos and images "professionally" (it's part of my job), so trust me on this: real input values can make a difference, not "generated" ones :-)

• @daihard and @rikyxxx Thank you guys. It's working much better than Compressor+Cinema Tools

• Settings used - Driftwood Quantum v9c 720@50p in all shots. Some shots was heavely colorgraded. This is my first try of Driftwood Quantum v9c patch and I very pleased with a quality of it. No record drop during all day long shooting session. http://player.vimeo.com/video/36882750

• @Ralph_B. Any concerns with using Sanity 3.1 patch with firmware v1.1 and ptool v364d?

• @Zaven13 It should work fine. BTW, I'm working on an updated version of Sanity with increased stability and spanning.

• Use word settings insted patch like VK say.

• I tried the patch with the new ptool. 720P look good, but the 1080i is only giving me 25 frames. Anyone else tried it?

• Ralph_B. I used Sanity 1080i60 and 720p60 settings with firmware v1.1 and ptool 364d. I did a comparison testing of the same scene with similar shots between the old and new firmware, I get half the bit rates with the new firmware compare to the old one and the video quality is not as good. looking forward to an updated version of your Sanity patch with the new firmware and ptool.