Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
2K BlackMagic Pocket Cinema Camera, active m43, $995
  • 4493 Replies sorted by
  • @km1001

I think the Blackmagic is a no-brainer. Even the Prores is so much better for grading than 8 bit footage.

• @Cde

Thanks for the help :-) I'm a bit of a noob. Is there somewhere I can read about the lenses you can use with it? I have no idea at all about that stuff...

• @Cde Agreed. And saving hours on transcoding is immeasurably beneficial in so many ways.

• @htinla Definitely.

@km1001

You can use all the lenses you use on GH2, only you'll get a 1.5x smaller field of view. So using a 25mm on the BMPCC would be similar to using a 37.5mm on a GH2

• @Cde @TrackZillas I think the clips in the John Brawley film didn't use panasonic lenses but SLR magic 25mm and 12mm lenses.

"Yeah your right the Panasonic lenses looks awesome good thing I have my 20mm Pany love that little lens."

"Wow, Panasonic lenses look great on this camera."

• @andrevanberlo All the shots on the beach were taken with the original Panasonic 14-42.

• That is a nice image from the original 14-42 Lens!

• https_//vimeo.com/66955436
    o jump to Vimeo stream

• @Cde I guess i missed that bit of info, thanks! In that case the 14-42 indeed looks pretty good, gives me high hopes for my 25mmf1.4!

• I'm convinced more than ever that the Pocket cant be used handheld without in lens stabilisation of some sort. The jello and softness with the SLR magics was unappealing to me but the sharp contrastly Lumixs ironically looked better, sharp and cinematic.

what's the word on the new 14-42mm x Lens. Can it be used or not? some discussion of having no zoom/ focus ring has confused me.