Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
SANITY 4 and 5.1
  • 1139 Replies sorted by
  • Hi, and thank you for the excellent patch.I like to shoot mostly 720p,therefore, the next question (I am really a beginner). You are talking about B-frames, which / what it is, and how I turned on ? Thanks for you answers.

• @opa

B-frames are turned on as part of the patch. They help the codec operate more efficiently. It's nothing that you need to adjust.

• Sanity 4.1 24H records OK, but won't play in-camera for me (freezes at start of playback). Tried both SanDisk Extreme Pro 16GB (95MB/s) & SanDisk Extreme 8GB (30MB/s) cards. Issue occurs with both 45-yr. old Nikkor prime lens & Lumix 20mm pancake lens. Tried both Smooth & Standard at -2,-2,-1,0 and -2,-2,-1,-2. NTSC.

For these tests I was shooting high-detail, no-motion handheld scenes (shrubbery, leaves, gravel, etc.) Beauty shots. ;-)

For my work I need reliable in-camera playback. Any suggestions? Cheers.

• @peterdv_dot_com Try turning the camera off and then on again, and see if it plays. This problem is not unique to Sanity, but affects many of the patches.

• Thanks, Ralph. I tried that (& as you say, this isn't unique to many patches, er, settings). Unfortunately, doesn't help in this case.

I just shot another quick test shooting CUs of "fabric of death" and not surprisingly that fails to playback in-camera if shot at 24H, but 24L plays in-camera fine.

Reason I'm testing this is that I have a shoot coming up where many scenes will be outdoors along trails through woods, so lots of fairly static, high-detail shrubbery of death.

I'll do some more little tests with 24L and see how that goes. Thanks for your & Vitaliy's efforts!