Personal View site logo
Olympus LS-100
  • I wanted to discuss this audio recorder because I did not see any thread on it. I find it strange because during my research for an external audio recorder this looks like the best small/affordable handheld recorder. At $ 400 it is about the same price that many bought the zoom h4n, and looking at the video bellow it is a vastly superior recorder in terms of build, ergonomic and most importantly sound quality.

The only advantage of the zoom apart from the price now which is more like $ 270, is that it can record 4 track from its 2 xlr and 2 internal mics. But as a filmmaker, I will always choose to have two quality preamps than some crappy zoom ones because most of the time we will use only one microphone. From everything I saw and heard the zoom XLR preamps are very noisy, unfortunately it is those thing/brand/model that gained traction from the early days of hdslr filming that would never go away.

Furthermore if you look at http://www.avisoft.com/recordertests.htm test, the Ls-100 is at the top part of the list, the best handheld recorder with XLR and better than the Rolland R-26 which is about $ 100 more. The internal microphone seems to be very good quality also. From what I read it had problem of latency for the headphone jack, but Olympus has remedied to that with a firmware update.

Test of the Olympus Ls-100 compared to the zoom h4

• 9 Replies sorted by
  • @Vitaliy_Kiselev do you think that we should go back to the other threat because it is only one post? If I post this one there, you will have two post with basically the same thing. What the last threat shows is that there are really not much interest in this recorder, which I find strange for the quality/price ratio.

• I'll close other one.

• Ok, you have a good, I would call cinematic example of sound clip of a car and footstep here http://soundcloud.com/ausavim/olympus-ls-100-test-1