Personal View site logo
Rode NTG-2 with Zoom H4n problems, choosing alternatives
  • 105 Replies sorted by
  • HillTop1: I have been very happy with my AT875R, DR-100mkii, Rycote Softie (worth the $!) and I would suggest a good lav mic within that budget. Shotgun into one channel and a lav into the other when appropriate. I have limited experience with lavs and I am currently choosing between the AT899 and the Rode Lav, the latter being pricier but more flexible. I'm sure other people here have good ideas.

Great to have a second recording off-camera and with the DR-100mkii, you can line-out (need an attenuator cable) and into the GH2 at the same time (the audio hack seems promising).

I have also been recording with the mic on the camera as far as 2m but, jeez, get closer whenever you can! Don't expect wonderful sound at that distance from any combination.

• I like my AT875R a lot and I thoroughly agree that due to its freq response, it is not as full sounding as other mics. I often need to give a little boost to it in post. As John_F noted, opportunities and compromises. For me the opportunities out-weighed the latter for the price and use - small, good sounding, sensitive so I can ramp down the levels on my recorder, etc.

This review - while dated - helped me a lot to learn how to listen to mics and learn what I wanted (listen thru headphones or don't bother - :) ): http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage/right_mic_brockett.html