Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
First RED DRAGON video on Vimeo
  • 65 Replies sorted by
  • @vicharris I would think that most actors would want good skintones. :)

Honestly, though, I have found that RED skintones can look great with a good LUT (or heck, normal grading - it doesn't really matter how you get there) but I'm sure there's something that makes it difficult for some people that I'm missing.

What exactly is it about the footage skintones that makes them more difficult to grade than other cameras?

• @thepalalias Per, I'm by no means an expert and I have no idea how people grade the footage but I've seen some really nasty stuff come from REDs on all forms of media. Actors looking sick, bad red tint, way to sharp in conjunction with bad makeup. Just not alot of room for error there. Everything that I've been in front of the camera and shot on Alexas are friggin gorgeous! RED, eh, plastic looking. Honestly the best footage I've seen from a RED was from a college kid I know that works at Hollywood Cameras now. I couldn't believe what his thesis looked! He wants to be a director of course but I told him he needs to get in color! He could teach alot of the pros how to do it right!!

• hmm skin tone look almost as 5DM3 with ML RAW (now you can stone me)

• It's the sensor, folks. RED used to have problems with skin tones, since their sensors up to now were industrial/technical sensors. Very hard to grade and little margin for error.

The Dragon is their first sensor made for cinematography, and I think it will scare some others. Graeme Nattress knows a thing or two about color…