Personal View site logo
Best way for new filmmakers/videographers to break into the business?
  • 93 Replies sorted by
  • If you want to know about difference between CTB or CTO, C47 and what is a C stand, watch this. I learned that "C" in C-stand means "Century."

• @ahbleza

Make separate topic for this video, ok?

I also thing about lighting FAQ page. let me know if you want to participate :-)

• @Vitaliy_Kiselev I'm not really qualified to work on such a FAQ, because I'm just a beginner in lighting. I never went to film school either. :-) Of course, I can edit the English grammar if someone with more knowledge than I wishes to contribute.

• That's a great idea about the interviews - I think a lot of people could benefit from those answers.

It's funny, MSU had one lighting class per semester, only let in a whopping 15 kids, and you couldn't get in until your last year!....I've found the biggest opportunities for learning stuff like this has always come from hard work, a little bit of cash, knowing the right people who are willing to teach you, and by demanding yourself and others to allow you to become knowledgeable at your trade. The only reason I know how to set up a C-stand is because I went to a local video shop where a guy who had worked on feature films for most of his life taught me about lighting equipment.