Personal View site logo
The Definitive Hackintosh topic
  • 359 Replies sorted by
  • @dtr Hi, I have a 2600k CPU, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3R-B3 motherboard, 16GB of Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 memory, but I am new to overclocking, could you recommend some quick settings for me to play with?

Thanks.

• There's many i7 2600k OC'ing guides out there. I'm a noob at it myself.

The only thing I've played with so far is the base CPU clock multiplier and the turbo ratio multipliers in BIOS. I have base at x36 and turbo 1=42, 2=40 3=38 and 4=36.

Important is to monitor your CPU temperatures while OC'ing. I use HWmonitor.

With the standard CPU cooler you can do a bit, but serious OCing requires a serious cooler. I went for an Arctic Cooling Freezer 11 LP which is not a serious OCing cooler but fits in my small micro-ATX case and shaves off a couple of degrees compared to the stock cooler.

First thing you wanna check though is whether CPU speedstepping and turbo boost are working in your hackintosh. I'm using MSRdumper for that as HWmonitor doesn't give correct frequency and multiplier values on some systems, including mine. If without any OCing your low load multi is 16, and goes up to 38 (single thread process) and 34 (4-thread process) under load then it is working. Values in between those can be reached as well depending on CPU load.

If it doesn't work then check out these forums for fixes, and also lots of info on how to OC hackintoshes: http://www.tonymacx86.com/optimization/

• @dtr

Thanks for your kind help! I will try to play with it.