Personal View site logo
SANITY 4 and 5.1
  • 1139 Replies sorted by
  • @tjnavyblue Thanks for the feedback. It's good to know people are actually using Sanity.

• if your footage is not transcoded, it is probably actually your CPU struggling. I know Vegas struggles to play 1080i/p clips from a consumer canon camcorder on my friend's Core2Quad 2.4GHz tower that i built for him a few years ago. Hard drives (even if attached with USB 2) are in general way faster than the SD cards the footage is recorded to in camera, so its probably not the HD unless you've transcoded to uncompressed or something like DNXHD. If te CPU's the problem, i'd recommend transcoding to DNXHD - seems to work well on windows, but i'm no expert there. FFmpeg will write DNXHD i think, so there should be plenty of free GUIs for it that will do the transcoding for you.

• All, What type of hard disk drive do you use to edit the footage from Sanity? I am having problems during edit in vegas. The preview is stuttering to the point of unbearable. The footage from the hack is excellent.

The spec sheet of my drive is 110MB/s sustained speed. It should be able to handle with plenty of headroom left.

• @mark_the_Harp Thx.

I just shot the above footage to pixel peep detail and moire with the grass and car going by. As others have mentioned earlier in this thread, I think Sanity 5 24H is slightly better than cbrandin66 for detail. 24L is right on par. Given the file sizes (I'm getting a full two hours on an Extreme 32gb card) the 24L version of this is THE hack for interviews.

I'm not seeing any of the banding discussed above. Perhaps I'm not re-creating those conditions properly.

@Ralph_B - Case you can't tell, I'm super impressed with this Sanity family of hacks. The philosophy and execution is right on the money in the balance of IQ and practicality. So, thanks.