Personal View site logo
Panasonic LX100 camera topic
  • 566 Replies sorted by
  • Bokeh and night 4K video tests:

• Hey all,

I just got me one of these LX100 to replace my Olympus E-P5 that I was using for stills/video with either the Panasonic 25/1.4 or the Olympus 12-40/2.8 zoom.

I'm brand new to Panasonic menus and shooting so I'm finding it a steep learning curve to setting it up and getting the right functionality (zebras/peaking/focus magnification) - features that were not available on the Olympus cameras in video mode. Also, I'm struggling a bit with getting face detection working.

Also, would love hearing from people who have set it up to be able to switch quickly for stills settings, to settings for video (manual mode, 180o shutter, automatic focus with manual override, quick WB/ISO changes). I see that there are customisations (C1, C2, C3) but not sure how to apply them quickly without a mode dial.

Yes, I need to read the manual, and I am in the process of doing so, but looking for some help from those that are shooting with the Panasonic menus, and specifically the LX100. Sometimes the manual is not too helpful there. People say that the Olympus menus are confusing, but as soon as you learn them and set them up, everything you need is in the SCP.

Thanks!

Stephen

P.S. First impressions is that the EVF is usable, but I miss my tilting Olympus VF-4. I can't believe how light the LX100 is, even compared to my E-PM2 with 17/1.8 prime (although I haven't weighed them). I also really like the LX100 grip.

I'll post some pictures once I figure out how to work the camera properly. I'm trying to learn it before I visit my inlaws in Spain over Christmas. I probably will take the E-PM2 with a couple of primes for backup, just in case :)