Personal View site logo
DaVinci Resolve 10
  • 177 Replies sorted by
  • @Riker I forgot to say that if Resolve can't read Avid codecs then something is wrong. I would suggest downloading both Avid & ProRes codecs and re-installing.

• @peaceonearth Accurate preview works because I have calibrated my iMac screen and my media is all 0-255 levels (0-1024 in HD). Please do a search in the Resolve 10 manual and setup guides for calibration info. Please keep in mind I'm talking professional workflow not hobby PC setups. I work as an Editor/Colourist exclusively on Mac so can not get into Windows specific setup.

• @caveport I have an iMac here too and color grading is not my main work but I would like to improve this. I have always been told by colleagues that I/O monitoring is mandatory for Resolve. My iMac is calibrated to D65 / Rec709 /CD 120 and that works pretty well - except in Resolve. Renders are darker than preview - where is may mistake? Any hint is highly appreciated

• @caveport

OK, here it is, part of my ProRes workflow...

Original MTS image

MTS to ProRes 422 HQ / 709 / Broadcast Range image

Premiere export to DNxHD 175 10-bit 1080p 23.976, 709 levels with Maximum Depth and Maximum Render Quality checked image

As you can see, already I see the color shifting.

I've came up with another method...seems to be working. I take the MTS in Premiere, edit what I want, export it to YUV 422 10 bit, take that into Resolve, grade, and export from Resolve to that same YUV 422 10 bit...seems ok, no noticable shifts in color.

For some reason - Resolve won't read the DNxHD footage. So even if I managed to properly transcode this (I think I need to choose RGB instead of 709 in codec settings) I can't use it LOL.

00069.MTS_snapshot_00.00_[2014.02.04_16.22.05].jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 318K
    converted.mov_snapshot_00.00_[2014.02.04_16.19.51].jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 313K
    dnxdnx.mov_snapshot_00.00_[2014.02.04_16.19.58].jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 340K
  • Just to show,