Personal View site logo
25mm f1.4 Leica DG Summilux
  • 89 Replies sorted by
  • Just bought this lens the other day. Optical quality is stellar but I am really not a fan of this focus by wire business. Is there any way to adjust the sensitivity of the electronic focus ring? I personally feel like it's exhaustingly slow.

• And it has a very big 'breathing' efect

• Can you guys see the video from my previous post?

• @stonebat: Which camera base is this? Is it height adjustable? If it is, it's exactly what I need :)

• That's not my video.

• @Shield "Ok, figured it out. It's not just a simple "half-click". You have to half-click and HOLD. HOLD being the key word. You have to hold the half shutter for 2-3 seconds, then a green box appears on the LCD and it refocuses. Also during this half/click hold, you can adjust the focus manually by rotating the focus ring. After 6 months I'm STILL learning amazing things about this camera! Shawn"

I am with you, and I just learned this from you. Thanks for sharing... Al

• Panasonic Leica DG Summilux 25mm f/1.4 ASPH Photozone.de review

http://www.photozone.de/olympus--four-thirds-lens-tests/740-pana25

• Well spotted @johnnymossville I would join the 25mm 1.4 owner's club if they would ship that to the uk (even with added tax!) Amazon uk has this at £444... aprox $700 here!

Would be great as one of @VK's bargain sale items ;)

• @matthere yeah. $700 seems kinda high. I'm tempted

• I'm new to using the GH2 for video, and I have a newbie question. With the exception of many people not liking the fly-by-wire manual focus, the Leica DG 25mm seems like an excellent lens. I bought one, but am considering returning it.

The DG doesn't have a stopless manual aperture ring like most conventional video lenses that I've been used to operating. I know I can control aperture using the GH2 controls on the rear of the camera, but when I use that I seem to create some camera shake.

Can anyone comment on this for me?