Personal View site logo
Official GH2 "Stalin" hack development topic
  • 939 Replies sorted by
  • But variable mode does not have a 100% option, only 80, 160, 200, 300. Are you suggesting recording at 80% and then change that to 100% in post-processing? What about the sound?
  • @yosemite
    Sound is not recorded.
  • @Vitaliy_Kiselev

That leads back to my original question: "Is there any effort in making 1080p30 (edit: including sound) available for the GH2?"
  • You sound like a broken record. Use MJPEG patch.
  • @stonebat: I'm not sure I follow but I assume you're saying that 1080p30 is not, and will not, be possible in AVCHD. Is that true, and if so, why? MJPEG is vastly less efficient storage format, isn't it?

Finally, could you point me to a tutorial or any introduction for total beginners into how to hack the GH2 and "use [the] MJPEG patch"? I'm usually quite technologically savvy, but have no clue what you're taking about and find it quite non-straightforward to find this information on this forum.

Thank you very much in advance for your help.
  • @yosemite

Please read camera manual.

And corresponding topics first. We have videos and special topics for beginners.
  • theres a video in one topic , which is a step by step video on youtube, i think its for GH1, but same process. But if youre technologically savvy, it should be enough to visit PTool topic and follow the small instructions.
  • I am a bit lost as to what stage we are at. We seem to be stuck on this AVCHD and getting the sensor settings to output 1080p lol.
  • If it's not a hassle, I think it'd be pretty cool to get regular status updates on where you are with the hack. I actually find the process pretty interesting. If that's not possible then nvm.
  • I have a feature request if this is the right venue. It's a still photography related one, rather than a video one: