Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
25mm f1.4 Leica DG Summilux
  • 89 Replies sorted by
  • Well...I decided to pick this one with the SLR Magic 12 mm f 1.6 instead of the 12-35 mm . For my videos I think I ll be better provided ....dont you guys agree ?

• @larrystick

The DG doesn't have a stopless manual aperture ring like most conventional video lenses that I've been used to operating.

I have the legacy Four Thirds version of the Leica 25mm f1.4 and it's one of the very few Lumix lenses that have a manual aperture ring. It's a beautiful lens, one of the sharpest I own, and the aperture makes a huge difference in rapidly paced event shoots. It also auto-focuses very quickly, nearly as fast as a native MFT Lumix lens.

• i'm a complete noob just started filming nearly a month.. i have this lense (25mm summilux) and focusing seems abit of trouble.. anyone knows how to set this lense focus to infinity?

• I'm new to using the GH2 for video, and I have a newbie question. With the exception of many people not liking the fly-by-wire manual focus, the Leica DG 25mm seems like an excellent lens. I bought one, but am considering returning it.

The DG doesn't have a stopless manual aperture ring like most conventional video lenses that I've been used to operating. I know I can control aperture using the GH2 controls on the rear of the camera, but when I use that I seem to create some camera shake.

Can anyone comment on this for me?

• @matthere yeah. $700 seems kinda high. I'm tempted

• Well spotted @johnnymossville I would join the 25mm 1.4 owner's club if they would ship that to the uk (even with added tax!) Amazon uk has this at £444... aprox $700 here!

Would be great as one of @VK's bargain sale items ;)