Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Total disaster, reports from the weddings front
  • 108 Replies sorted by
  • @fosterchen

And I hear you @mintcheerios about using traditional camcorders...it's a hard transition with a lot of anxiety. I'm still using one as backup camera just in case, but one of these days I'll go without it and rely strictly on HDSLR's!

The company I shoot weddings for sometimes was basically just "forced" to only use DSLRs now. We got too many complains about how bad the XF footage looks next to 5D/7D stuff. It's actually not that bad with only DSLRs and a Zoom though.

• Yes, I have a Tascam DR-40 which has been a great tool since I started shooting with the GH2. Great tip is to call the DJ day before wedding and see what his setup will be, and if you can patch a line/mic out from him into your recorder. So if he only mic's up the officiant, you can then mic up the groom and put that on the 2nd input, and you're set. Usually the onboard mics can pickup good ambience indoors, outdoors if there is even a slight wind, might as well turn those off and save battery life.

If you have more than one shooter, Canon's might work great for you, but for solo work, GH2 with the continuous recording really helps for those stationary shots where you can hit record way before ceremony start and not have to worry about it stopping throughout the entire ceremony...Same with reception.