Personal View site logo
Indie Filmmaking Lenses
  • I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to lenses. I purchased the GH2 with the intent of filming a few screenplays I've written over the years, or at least short films in order to promote them. I have no use in the camera for still photography except in capturing stills to eventually promote the videos. I purchased the camera with the 14-140mm kit lens. I really didn't think I would use this kit lens much for filmmaking, since I really hate the zoom look in films. I prefer to move the camera itself, but at $1100 I couldn't beat the price of the 14-140mm pkg.

So between looking at a film called Musgo, which was filmed entirely on GH2 with Tokina (I can't afford) and Nikon 28mm and 50mm lenses, I decided I would purchase a couple. I like the look of the film. I found a Nikkor 50mm 1.4 AIS on Ebay for $158 and a Nikon 28mm f2.8 AIS for $135...I have only $300 to spend, so I thought this might be a good set. I haven't purchased them yet. I saw cheaper non-AIS lenses, but not sure if that matters.

On the other hand, I recently saw a video I liked that had a Vivitar 28-90mm f2.8 lens and a Konica Hexanon 40mm f1.8 lens that I liked. I found them for $139 and $70 on Ebay....and another fixed lens Vivitar 28mm AIS f2.8 for $80.

Much of where I will be shooting is right here in the city, lots of shaded streets, under bridges, subway, in vehicles, as well as indoor and bright outdoor settings, etc..so I want lenses that can cover a wide variety of light situations. I love the look of rich contrast and I didn't think the Canon 50mm samples showed much of that. I don't want to be spending money on a focal length that I already have covered with the 14-140 unless it gives me a lot more options as far as light goes.

I would love some input from people who have more experience with any of these lenses. I'm trying to make the most out of my limited $$$. Thanks a lot!

-Mike

• 4 Replies sorted by