Personal View site logo
Share a GH4 LUT that you created
  • Hey Guys...

Here are some LUTS that I put together. I am by no means an expert or colorist at all. I simply wanted some LUTS that have good skin tones and these look decent IMO. In regards to LUTS/LOOKS and grading in general everybody has different preferences so please keep this in mind if you decide to use these LUTS. If these LUTS do not look good to you please feel free to say so and share the LUTS that you created which you feel are better for skin tones.

Please note that the settings were tested with everything being properly exposed and white balanced using a light meter. I have noticed in the past using a waveform monitor hooked up to the GH4 that I get the best skin tones when I expose the midtones between 43-50 IRE. The exception to this general rule of thumb is VLog. I have overexposed VLog by 2 stops without any adverse effects on skin tones.

That being said I am not sure if one LUT can cover everything for skintones because you need a different IRE level for different types of skin tones. Anyway guys I just wanted to share my LUTS with you guys, hopefully it will be useful for some people. Here is some helpful information in regards to skin tones.

https://larryjordan.com/articles/color-correction-make-people-look-normal/

As a point of reference in terms of what I think looks good for skin tones this is exactly what I am trying to achieve with these settings.

Click on link below to access the LUTS:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/k3woyuwkcismw9u/AACcBkd41LkrQ5O2rY42z4n9a?dl=0

ADDENDUM: Natural Profile I was trying to increase the dynamic range with the Natural profile by adjusting the highlights/shadows and master pedestal As the old saying goes you can't turn chicken shit into chicken salad so take this setting for just that, possibly a feeble attempt at squeezing a little more dynamic range out of it.

There are 2 options with the Natural Profile.