Personal View site logo
Camera with good DR and high framerates for slowmo?
  • Hi, I need a camera that can match my BMPCC shots and can capture at 100fps+. As the shots are bathing in sunlight with deep shadows under a tree, I need a camera with a high dynamic range (on the level of the BMPCC). Oh, and I don't have a Hollywood budget ;-)

1) What cameras can do both, fast fps and high DR?

2) Is there someone with such a camera in the Weilheim/Munich (Germany) area willing to help me out with his camera, lenses and technical knowledge (1-2 afternoons, arround sunset)?

I think one possible camera would be the Sony FS-700, but its expensive and even renting it is not cheap (as I have no experience with it, I will need additional time to learn its setups). Any thoughts on that one?

The GH4 can do 96fps, which is just enough (and I could use my m4/3 lenses) - but what about its DR?

• 21 Replies sorted by
  • Samsung NX1 :-)

• Anyone known what is NX1 DR after last firmware releases?

• The NX1 looks good on paper, bzut it does use an 8-bit codec, correct? Thats going to be a problem when dealing with a wide DR. Is there much difference between the NX1 and the GH4?

• @Psyco

You can just check NX1 topic :-) With such pace Samsung very soon will add proper log mode to use all of the available DR, and it is good.

• Though from your setup it sounds like you need extra lighting, not a camera with good DR.

• @geoffcbassett Look at the car behind you in that video - just black, no details. My main subject will have plenty of light, but I can't light some bigger shadows in the background. As its an outdoor shot, I can't control lighting much. Thats where the BMPCC shines - I can have details in the shadows and in the highlights.