Personal View site logo
SLR Magic 2x ANAMORPHIC lens
  • 804 Replies sorted by
  • Here are some more thoughts for @slrmagic, after reading further comments.

1. Rear/front thread sizes if you make an "adapter" for use with various "taking" lenses: 72mm is the front thread I would suggest. The best circular diopter option currently is the Tokina ATX, which is 72mm. Any front larger than 72mm would risk vignette with the Tokina ATX. Also, I'm no rocket scientist, but I think if you were to make the back thread 72mm, the front thread would have to be significantly larger than that. I'd try to keep the rear thread a bit smaller.

2. A unique approach that just might make everyone happy: 1.33/1.35X anamorphic lens with oval iris. Best of both worlds. I did some serious internet digging on the oval iris concept several months ago, and I'm pretty confident that it would be possible to make an adjustable oval iris (that is, it is not fixed aperture; it has blades and can be stopped down, remaining oval). Therefore, you could make an anamorphic lens with a 1.35X squeeze up front, and make up the difference between 1.35X and 2X out of focus "smear" via an oval aperture. What you'd end up with is an anamorphic that flares lightly but not too much, that desqueezes from 16:9 to 2.39 without the need to crop, and that still delivers wonderful out of focus smear 100% on par with that of 2X anamorphics.

3. Also, I don't know much about them, but I don't think rear anamorphic elements have been mentioned yet. As far as I know, they don't flare at all . . . but it may be more cost-effective to squeeze the image with a smaller set of optical elements near the back of the lens, rather than with a large set of front elements . . . just something you could look into. Flares can always be achieved with a flare filter.

P.S.

Just the fact that as a forum community we are having this conversation with a manufacturer is incredibly cool. @slrmagic mad props.