Personal View site logo
Beginners: Basic hacks questions, series 2
  • 318 Replies sorted by
  • I guess it is a semantic argument whether constants are merely "hidden settings". You can say they are settings, in the sense that some Panasonic engineer set them to those values. But they aren't settings in the sense that they would ever be changed by anyone, hidden or not.

You misused the word "patch" again. Better just forget this word. PTool settings. That's what you care about.

None of the PTool settings will help noise reduction.

Flashing your GH2 with a new firmware image will not cause the camera to lose its settings.

• Believe it or not I will get it eventually LOL

Thanks, I really appreciate your help!!!!

I'm about to apply the hack for the first time using the No adverse affects 725B Pxxxxx Settings :-)

Thanks Again!!

• Hi, my name is Rock Hunter. I'm a noob when it comes to hacking the GH2, I admit it. But I'm trying to learn.

When used Ptools, I selected the GH2__V11.bin file. Then I saw Patches for end users and patches for testers. If I open up Patches for end users (since I am an end user and not a tester), I see various items with selection boxes. My question is: do I need to check the boxes of the items I want? If I don't check any of the boxes will I change anything in the Panasonic 1.1 firmware or not? Do I need to select anything at all from the section for testers?

Sorry if this seems basic to you but it is a little confusing to me and none of the videos that I've looked at on YouTube about hacking the GH2 mentioned these check boxes; they just said to click on the green letter at the bottom and save the file.

• Those check boxes and the associated numerical fields tell PTool how to modify the firmware image. Checking a box enables the modification. Ptool settings can be saved in an .ini file, which you load by clicking a green circle at the bottom. Read the FAQs: http://www.personal-view.com/faqs

• Hi,