Personal View site logo
Which settings recommended for a dark short with the GH2?
  • Im not very technical, i trust by my instincts and I am sometimes some confused by the amount of patches so my english isnt very good. But i like council for this.

In April or May I will codirecting and making of DP in a short i wrote with a friend. The story have some common elements with the novel 'The tunel' of Ernesto Sabato. Its a psychological drama, with elements of noir cinema, thriller, etc. its dark. My intentions aesthetic are closer to the tenebrism of the painter Caravaggio, films like The Godfather, Stay, Gattaca, etc. Palette with predominantly brown-ochre, black and some of red.

I have this gear in the Panix with TerraQuake: Two cards SanDisk Extreme 16 GB @ 30MB/S Class 10. Lenses FD: 50mm f1.8, 35mm f2, 28mm f2, 80-210 f3.8 & 135mm 2.8. M4/3 glases: Pancake 14mm f2.5 and kit 14-42. But i think need to acquire the pancake 20mm f1.7 have a soft look.

Thanks by help friends.

PS: I have the first and probably one GH2 in my country. Everyone told me acquired Canon, so I hope show what can this noble camera.

• 12 Replies sorted by
  • Sounds like you've got some great visual references to go on there. I love Film Noir myself. Here is a short test I did with Terraquake...14-140mm lens I believe.

• @Manu4Vendetta Look into Driftwoods "Dark Matter", IMHO it has the best grading capability in dark parts of the image. But you need fast cards to be on the safe side. And Caravaggio – great reference! You'll need to get into very serious lighting AND grading, though.

• @Manu4Vendetta I asked the same and driftwood says that actually the best matrix for low light is SEDNA.

• Matter of taste, I suppose. Sedna is great for sure.

• Honestly, I think that a good lighting setup (spot light etc) is much more important than settings to achieve a Caravaggio-look...you should find online resources about "Low Lighting", "Rembrandt Lighting" etc...