Personal View site logo
Best "All Around" settings for the GH2 as of March 21st. Please help
  • Hey everyone. Noob here. I worked with the hacked GH1 sometime ago. However, I've got a shoot this weekend and thanks to budget constraints and some of YOUR AWESOME footage with the GH2, the shoot is moving forward with said camera.

My issue: With all the various patches, it's quite overwhelming. Unfortunately, I have VERY limited time to play around and test prior to the shoot dates.

What is the best "all around", go-to patch as of current? I've seen tons of great samples displaying Driftwood's patches. There's just so many...

I'm working with some Zeiss ZF lenses and Transcend Extreme 16gb cards. Looking to possibly include some 60fps shots for slow motion and time ramping here and there as well....

Any help is extremely appreciated. Thanks everyone.

• 19 Replies sorted by
  • Not enough information... What mode will you shoot in? What ISO setting will you use? Do you need the highest possible quality? Are you fine with high bit rates and large files? Can you tolerate recording failures? How much recording time do you need? How long is your longest take? How many memory cards do you have?

There aren't any "best all-around" settings. It really depends on how you're shooting and what you need. The various settings are aimed at different things.

Can you get your hands on better memory cards before the shoot? Transcends are not the best cards for the hacked GH2.

• Sorry, correction on the cards: they are Sandisk Extreme Pro 16gb cards. I have 3 with a DIT on hand for dumping.

The ISO settings will vary, with nothing expected to exceed 320 (hopefully). A good bit of daylight shooting with the addition of some well lit interior shots. However, I'm going for a bit of hard light, old hollywood shadowing lighting in places. Thus, more blacks at times.

Would like to avoid failures, yet don't need any takes over 5 mins max.