Personal View site logo
Official Low GOP topic, series 4
  • 586 Replies sorted by
  • @spacewig right click on the before pic to view at full size and you can see the grain.

• OK, didn't know you could do that. Still, very well behaved. Sensors have made major progress in the last few years.

• @redbaron

A screengrab from a short I am making at the moment. Shot at 1250, all ambient light (sun). I just find the noise relatively heavy.

FG 12.png
    1920 x 1080 - 3M
  • @redbaron, That still looks cleaner than ISO 1250. How did you set your in-camera white balance for this shot?

• @spacewig

Have you used any denoising filter on that screengrab? Noise doesn't look a lot worse than redbaron's "before". I'm only a novice, but I would say redbaron has exposed slightly to the right on the histogram, whereas your shot looks central (if not slightly underexposed)? Also his shot has less depth of field...maybe that makes a difference? The subjects in redbaron's "before" are slightly out of focus, and it looks like he has applied some post sharpening.

With a bit of post work you can clearly use ISO 1250, but denoising filters alone add a lot of time to render. If you can/afford it light your scene, drop the ISO and live with less noise. This is the way I want to go, but I know naff all about lighting (and the rest!). All i know is most of us have decent camera's nowadays, but footage often still looks like cheap video. Lighting is key!

All the best

• Also, what is the proper way to post pics in this forum. I kind of hacked it.