Personal View site logo
GH2 ISO noise bug at 320, 640, and 1250
  • 62 Replies sorted by
  • Thanks a lot for the explanation! Much appreciated. I will start thinking about and implementing these strategies more often.

• Im definetively going to use the gray card tip. Excellent tip by the way

• I was looking back at some old HDV material the other day... boy, you think we've got problems with the noise floor... its certainly better than what it was.

• I started shooting a film last weekend and as a rule I never let the ISO go above 400... My goal is ALWAYS 160 if I can .. I have to agree with proaudio4 in that shooting the charts is a really good idea and will make a difference in post for noise reduction. I have been testing out shian's ColorGHears and it has some noise reduction tools that seem to work fairly well. Its way better to add light, then to ISO up in almost any given situation.

• @cinepaint

Like yourself, we're all concerned about ANY camera's noise floor. Just jump over to a canon APS-C forum (other site) and look at all the noise threads.

Many are using NEAT VIDEO PRO. Get yourself a large GRAY card that you can frame a large enough sample in the same light condition as your subjects you plan on shooting. Also, it's wise to shoot a color chart under this condition prior to recording. This way you can use the gray card for a noise reduction sample (since it is neutral and has no detail), also the color chart will be good for color analysis and use with your editing software's vector scope (if you choose). If you can frame a stepped gray chart, this will give you a better selection of where noise levels are the worse and you can sample that block within Neat.