Personal View site logo
My first music video - GH2, 44 meg hack
  • Firstly I would like to put a big thank you out there to Vitaliy for his amazing work on the patch.

I shoot stills on a 5D Mk2 (I'm a photographer in Aus) but I recently wanted to shoot a music video, and after a lot of research, went for the GH2, and thought I'd share the pre-release video and give some details. The 5D was simply not an option after I did a few video tests. Moire etc, especially on instruments and shiny surfaces (something this video had in spades) was a 5D nightmare. The GH2 proved it can handle detailed images with hard highlighted edges with ease.

The video is here:

I used the first stable 44 meg patch at 1080p, 24fps. Edited on Final Cut and graded in Color.

Due to seeing more noise in the smooth setting in my testing, I went for the Cinema setting, to also bake in a little more of a look, before grading. This worked out ok, but in retrospect, I would have gone for Smooth. I had noise, sharpness, sat turned to -2.

I did want to try Resolve for grading, but as I went for a little bit of an overexposed look, the GH2's tendency to yellow up the roll off in highlights, I simply didn't have the knowledge to correct that in Resolve as easily as I could in Color. I also wanted to put in a softening layer, and that was easy in Color using an add function in the Color FX room.

Lenses used were the Panasonic 20mm F1.7 and the Olympus 45mm F1.8. Both were pretty impressive, especially the Olympus. To keep the aperture wide I used a Singh Ray variable ND. Interesting thing about this was the flare and reflections you get from highlights. See if you can spot a few floating hotspots, which is the dress and highlights in the BG simply hitting the flat optics of the ND.

Lights were 2 x 650w Arri knock off fresnel lights for the performances, and 2 banks of 3200k flouros for the bar, and the hotel room shots.