Personal View site logo
GH4 4K Panasonic video camera, User reviews and opinions
  • 1273 Replies sorted by
  • Anyone familiar on how to check shutter count? I followed directions on how to get to the Temporary Service menu. But when I tried it, all i got was a screen with a bunch of squares with numbers. And if scroll left, right, up or down. Bunch of random numbers and letters appear.

Turn it off and back on, and everything is back to normal. Any ideas on how to do this?

Thanks

• @lmackreath I mainly shoot wildlife videos, and those settings seem to work really well for that too.

• @lmackreath, I'm not a pro like many of the people on this forum are, but I suspect not too many of the pros care much for on-camera mics (like I don't either, actually).

At any rate, with the VMP I often find that the mic set on +20dB gives me a bit more gain than I can dial down to the preferred level in the camera, and the 0dB setting requires me to have to dial a bit more gain in the camera than I really want to... Having said all of that, both methods seem to give adequate results for what you can get with an on-camera mic. Neither one is great, but both are decent for some people's purposes.

@h2otara, correct me if I'm wrong, but I think Dave's use of the VMP setup like you described is for his video narratives with the mic off-camera on his desk? In that case I would undoubtedly end up using the same setup, because he has the mic pretty close to the subject, in a mostly quiet environment. Should (and does) work very nicely like that.

• @lmackreath I set the camera on -12 and the mic on 0, per Dave Dugdale, and seems to work great. He's got a video about using that mic with the GH4.

• Depends on how you want to use the Rode VideoMic Pro. For interviews just mounting it on the flash shoe and plugging it in may be enough. For serious Video it may be used only for synching sound but you could use the internal one for that.