Personal View site logo
Found this lens in a thrift shop
  • I need some help figuring out how to use this lens I found in a thrift shop. I've been lurking around this forum for a couple weeks and you guys seem like the friendliest most knowledgeable group so I figured I'd give you a shot.

I'm pretty new to m43 photography, and digital in general. My last camera was a Minolta X370. I just went out and bought a used GH2 and an adapter for my old MD mount 50mm f1.7, but I've been wanting more lenses so I was cruising local thrift shops and I came across something that looked like an anamorphic lens. I bought it without thinking (it was pretty cheap) but now I have no idea how to use it.

It says "SANKOR ANAMO-PRIME LENS f=95mm-3.74in Japan" on the side in blue letters. I googled that and apparently there are a million just like it on ebay, but no reviews, camera tests, stats, nothing. It looks kinda like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sankor-Anamo-Prime-Anamorphic-f-95mm-3-74-in-Theater-Proector-Lens-/271743605595?nma=true&si=Vg%252BTHgfPDrHc8kswmEhylSSwtXA%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

Except its a little more beat up.

I've read about mounting anamorphics with a taking lens and focusing both of them to the same distance, but that doesn't seem to be working for this one, or at least not with me hand holding it against my 50mm. It only cost $30, but after buying the GH2 I'm pretty broke and now I'm scared I threw away what money I had left on a shitty, unpopular lens I can't use.

Does anyone know anything about this lens?

• 6 Replies sorted by
  • This might be overly obvious, but have you tried writing the guy who made this video to ask about it? Looks like he's using the same lens you are on a fairly similar setup (only real difference being that he's using a Pentax taking lens):