Personal View site logo
Gimbal for a compact camera (such as the LX100)?
  • A fellow Panasonic LX100 owner asked me if I could recommend any hand-held video stabilizer for use with this camera. Unluckily, I have no experience or market oversight of such stabilizers.

Can you recommend a certain product? I'm not sure which additional information would be required to choose one, here's what preferences I can relay:

• should be holdable with one hand (not meant for quad-copter use or such)
    • price should be < 1000 €, the less expensive the better, of course

(Could something like this (Gazer MD1) be suitable? I really don't have any clue yet what makes the difference between the astonishing number of very differently priced stabilizers...)

• 24 Replies sorted by
  • @Vitaliy_Kiselev: What coincidence, you posted your comment in the very minute I was adding the one thing that Google brought up to my initial posting :-)

I found a German web shop that claims to have a Gazer MD1 on stock. Any pro's and con's that I should relay on that model?

• I noticed that some products (like FeiYuTech FY-G3Ultra, which unluckily seems to be made for GoPros, only) advertise different "modes" that allow switching between "fixed horizontal" or "allowing to roll somewhat". Are such features really relevant?

• Are such features really relevant?

The more the better :-) But as I said, market is empty now. Wait.

• I also found statements from people claiming that simple, inexpensive, non-electronic stabilizers such as this one (DNA1000), could well be enough. Hmm... would those work for someone not at all trained? I would imagine that the processor controlled ones are much more "beginner friendly", right?

• Light camera and small stabilizer require skills and good hand, and still won't be as stable as big rig.

As for DNA1000, looks like some indian thing. Get Laing from deals, if you really want steadicam. At least they have very reliable quality and easy to balance.