Personal View site logo
How to Handle Concert Video with Multiple Bands
  • Hi, All. I am considering doing a 3 hour video of 3 different bands playing at a charity benefit. At first I thought I would do it for free, but, although I'm a beginner, I'm starting to think I should start charging.

What would make sense in this scenario? Could I charge the organizer a flat rate for a copy of the video? Or give him one for free, and offer to sell individual videos to each of the bands. What about all the copyright legal mumbo jumbo. Do I need to worry about that? Do I need to get written agreements from all the musicians with them agreeing that I film them beforhand? What if one band covers a song, and I sell the video to them and they throw it on their website, can the Rolling Stones come back and sue me? Is that like a one-in-a-million type of risk?

Logistically, I am going to have myself manning a telephoto GH2 on a tripod (with closeups of the bands singing and playing), along with a fixed wide shot with a GH1. My buddy will be roving around with a handheld for some med shots of different angles.

Any opinions/advice are appreciated. Thanks.

• 19 Replies sorted by
  • Legally, any or physical or digital distribution of an audio recording of a musical performance, or distribution of a video with synchronized audio of a musical performance requires a license from the music's copyright holder or agent, whether you are selling the recordings or not. Distribution of a concert video recording would require a so-called synchronization license, which would typically be negotiated directly with the music publisher. If you're not planning to distribute any videos yourself, then you do not need a sync license. If the bands want to distribute the videos, then it's up to them to get licenses.