Personal View site logo
Nikon D600 or Hacked GH2?
  • Hey guys,

I've been using a hacked GH2 for a couple of years and have been really happy with the results. Just recently though, I had a shoot and the GH2 gave me some issues. My camera froze several times while using Moon T7, even with a 95mb/s Sandisk, causing me to miss several key shots. Also, when lighting conditions changed unexpectedly, the GH2 once again let me down with its poor low light performance. There were 2 other cameras on the shoot that picked up my slack, both were Nikon D600's. They smashed my low light performance and of course had no difficulties with their firmware. I've been wanting a full frame cam for a while anyway, so today I decided to buy a Nikon D600. Obviously I haven't really had a chance to do much yet, but after some brief initial tests, I think I'm coming down with a case of buyer's remorse. I was wondering if any of you guys had the opportunity to use both cameras on actual shoots and why type of results you got.

• 8 Replies sorted by
  • Personally I would've gone with a Nikon D5200 (or for a little more a D5300) over a Nikon D600 any day for filming with. (a Nikon D5300/D5200/D7100 is the best APS-C DSLR that you can get for filming with, and in many ways can match or even exceed a Canon 5DmkIII)

Or if you wanted to stay with m4/3 then consider the Panasonic G6. http://www.personal-view.com/talks/discussion/6788/panasonic-g6-topic-gh2-replacement-camera/p1

• I shoot both GH3 and D600. Main impressions? As a portrait photog who's made his living at it for the last 30+ years, for still work the D600 is a fine rig ... I've been using a D3 for the last 3 years also.

For video ... the GH3 is a hell of a lot easier to work than the D600 ... focusing, everything. I love the touch-screen, which was weird for me when we first got it. Now I try to tap the D600 screen and practically cuss 'cause it doesn't do anything!