Personal View site logo
SANITY 4 and 5.1
  • 1139 Replies sorted by
  • That's the point of Sanity, reasonable bitrates but still improved GH2 performance over stock settings.

• @brandonmrsh

Yes, a while back I tested Sanity with a class 6 card, and it seemed to work. I never ran the class 6 card through my extreme torture tests, so I don't know how stable it is under all conditions. So, I still recommend class 10 cards to be on the safe side. But if the class 6 is working for you, go for it!

• Same results for me also, I have been using a 16GB class 4 card and that has been performing wonderfully. Its a really good patch!

• Holy moley, a class 4! You're really pushing the limit!

• yep ahha :)

Video is here...

• Hey guys, I have some questions I think came from the hack. I'm very new to shooting on the GH2, so any help would be much appreciated.

When I hacked the cam, I noticed that some shooting modes were deactivated (Maybe on purpose?). When I am in Manual Movie Mode, I'm unable to select between AVCHD 720 and 1080i. Now, the only modes selectable are the FSH, and FH modes (described as 1080i in the manual). Does the hack change/adjust some of the choose-able options?

Is there a rough guide to which modes shoot what? I'm trying to wrap my head around everything, but all of these abbreviations are a pain in the ass.

• @brandonmrsh

The hack does not change the shooting modes at all. Once you go into manual movie mode, there are two menu items that detemine the shooting mode. They are 'REC MODE' and 'REC QUALITY'. REC MODE sets 1080i or 720p or MJPEG. REC QUALITY then sets the quality for the recording mode you've selected.

Yes, the designations for REC QUALITY are terrible. One way to think about it is, the longer designation is high quality and the shorter designation is low quality. (Actually, in Sanity the low quality isn't so low. It's actually darn good and totally useable).

Hope that helps.

• Hey Ralph_B