Personal View site logo
anyone recomend me a way to improve my macbook pro for editing
  • hi, was wondering if anyone could recommend me some equipment and computer parts (external graphics cards etc) in order to speed up my current editing system. im afraid im a student so spending loads on equipment is a no go, (do not tell me i need a new £5000 desktop etc as this is not practical for me) i want to add bits bit by bit as i can afford them to improve my system gradually .

i currently own a macbook pro 15" 2011 edition with: 2.2ghz i7 , 4gb 1333 ddr3 ram , AMD radeon 6750m 512mb graphics card, 500GB TOSHIBA MK5065GSXF sata hard drive.

how can i speed this system up? i am looking at getting 16gb of ram (which this series of macbook pro accepts) and a solid state hard drive of some sort with fast read write speeds i presume?

is there anything i can do on the graphics card front to speed up programs like premier , speed grade, after effects and davinci resolve lite? (i know i cant change mine as its solderd in but can i plug an external one into my system?

also my max resolution on this screen is 1440x900 - not large enough for davinci can someone tell me if there is a way to get an external moniter running from my macbook with high enough resolution to work on davinci? how do i do this?

im running lion 10.7.5 by the way.

ps sorry vitally i know this thread is a bit of a mess , but i simply do not understand computers enough to be able to find the information i need.

thanks in advance everyone

• 24 Replies sorted by