Personal View site logo
Rewrap an AVCHD file from quicktime .mov to .mts (Premiere issues)
  • Hello everyone ! I'm not new to this forum (a long time reader) but never posted yet. I'm an independent motion designer with some degree of photography and video skill, though i'm not rock solid on my video workflow yet... ;)

Making music video I started with FCPX which I love but crippled in some ways. No clear multi-track editing, not good communication with After Effects (which is my daily main tool), not a lot of plugin available... So I making the switch to Premiere, however I experienced troubles with FCPX original importted medias which are AVCHD file rewrapped to .mov. Don't have the MTS anymore... It's a known bug by Adobe, Premiere doesn't like this 32 bits container for native editing, basically render takes FOREVER (CPU saturated, slooooow scrubbing). No need to mention that I have a monster beast as a computer and everything is working fine with every others player. MTS high bitrate files from other projects works great in Premiere, in case if you're in doubt. I tried a tool called "remux" for mac but couldn't rewrap my clips in something other that MKV. These MKV will plays fine in VLC and Premiere but no sound in the last one.... too bad I was so close !

I searched through adobe forums and they made it clear : MOV and AVCHD in Premiere is not a good team for editing in Premiere, better stick with native MTS wrapper.... that I don't have anymore as I noticed before :'(

If someone knows a good workaround for rewrapping AVCHD's .mov files in something other that Premiere understand.... You will save my day :^)

Cheers mates.

• 8 Replies sorted by
  • Hello subco, thanks for your reply. As I stated above :