Personal View site logo
GH2 Lens selection 14-42mm any good for my purposes ?
  • Hi All

Very tempted to buy a GH2 currently discounted at £499 but with the 14-42mm Lens - im a beginner to DSLR video (have been using a high end consumer minidv camera Panasonic NVGS but the performance is just not good enough) my primary use is to video my wife's classical concerts (piano and she is the singer)

See example here:-

made by a pro we hired .......... not great he zoomed all over the place and we ended up with only one usable video from the concert ! and he was using what looked like one of the mid level pro cameras filming in HD - hence taking back control ourselves.

Typically in the concerts the lighting is poor hence looking at DSLR route / higher ISO that can be achieved (hopefully without too much grain) / the hacked cameras extended recording time / quality level in the European models.

The next concert in Feb will be in a theatre so will be on stage (about waist hight above the floor level and will be standing a little way back

Final videos typically go on youtube as part of her promotion.

Im tempted by the 14-42 + body offer as seems a very good discount as I am on a very tight budget ..... but have read reviews that the 14-42mm lens is not very good (the 14-140 kit price is out of my reach) for video.

During videoing typically use some zooming /re audio use an external zoom recorder and sync later with the cameras audio.

Have an old 50mm OM mount Olympus lens and a zoom (not a high end) OM manual lens (forget the f numbers(, but worried about manual zooming / focus.

Is the kit worth it at that price / do you think I could get useable footage from the 14-42mm lens it comes with ?

• roughly how long does it take to stop filming and start filming again

Andy

• 12 Replies sorted by