Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
AVCHD maximum image quality settings and testing
  • 1002 Replies sorted by
  • Are those patterns normal?
    It only appear after ~30 sec. Not every clip has it.

My settings are:
    Video Bitrate 24H=42000000
    Video Bitrate 24L=32000000
    Video Bitrate FSH/SH=42000000
    Video Bitrate FH/H=32000000
    Auto Quantizer for 1080 modes=3 - Most to details
    Auto Quantizer for 720 modes=3 - Most to details

What should I change to avoid this? I'm a confused noob :\
    Capture-1.png
    1289 x 673 - 53K
    Capture-2.png
    1289 x 673 - 53K
  • Come on guys... we've clearly identified the low GOP problem. As the saying goes - insanity is repeating the same thing and expecting a different outcome. The low GOP stuff doesn't work - Vitaliy is fixing it - we need to drop it and wait. His request to test longer GOP's will help him get to the bottom of it - lets help him out.

Chris
  • Chris, that is a VERY good idea cutting back on light level on a high rez chart!

Also, I can suggest that we do not stop down the aperture since this will cause lens diffraction at higher f-stops.
    We're probably better off increasing the shutter speed. This way the test can be more repeatable between firmware changes.
  • I didn't touch GOP, I don't understand it. I get the cadence issue on default GOP values.

I went back to the footage I shot with the previous PTool version with a 32000000 bitrate as the only modified setting and a few shots have the cadence issue as well.
  • With 3.62 I don't see a benefit from lower GOPs than 12. It doesn't seem to make it anymore reliable to goto 12 rather than 3 or 6 with this version of ptool either.
  • @cbrandin
    this help me to understand avchd a lot.