Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Problem with Sound setup Zoom H1/Gh2
  • I bought the Zoom H1 today along with a 3.5mm to 2.5mm 4 plug adapter. I am a complete noob when it comes to anything sound related and I seem to be having a problem. I plug the cable from Line in to the adapter then the adapter into the GH2. The little microphone icon appears on the camera and it disables the onboard microphone however the left channel is stuck at 3 bars and the right channel is not changing at all. I get no sound from either the internal microphone or Zoom H1. I'm guessing it is the adapter.

Anyone had the same problem?

• 20 Replies sorted by
  • @John11

All must be ok, but sound can be distorted (due to clipping) if level is too high.

• Hi. Wanted to ask, if i dont use the attenuator cable but a regular 1/8″ Y cable can that destroy/damage the dslr’s mic in? Canon T3i to be exact. Thank you.

• Any idea which Sescom cable to get for the GH3? I see they sell models for the GH1/GH2, but I'm not sure which is appropriate for the GH3.

BTW, I would be using this with either the Tascam DR-40 or DR-680. Monitoring off the GH3 has latency, (real time audio monitoring doesn't seem to work with hdmi output) so I may opt for the Secom cable with the headphone monitor tap. If anyone know which Sescom part number to order, I'd appreciate it.

thanks!

• The GH3 has a dedicated Headphone socket

Nice :)

I really don't know about cables, I record sound directly to my H4N, and sync in post. Many people here sacrifice some comfort to retain the best quality of picture as well as sound.

• The GH3 has a dedicated Headphone socket and with the right settings you can monitor what level is actually being recorded. So I really need just a straight 3.5 to 3.5 i think.