Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
25p official topic, aka Don't cry for me Argentina
  • 236 Replies sorted by
  • could someone (Vitaliy?..) please explain (i'm not an expert)
    what's the difference between the AF100 25P capability VS the GH2 failing to have this mode?
    is there a GOOD reason for Panny not being able to put 25P on the GH2?
    maybe hardware decisions in order to perform a native 24p?

thanks
  • Hey @rozroz...

Basically there is no way to 'understand' this... Panny can do anything that they want.
    There is no reason why the HDMI output is 8bit..?

The simple answer is that the AF100 is Panny's flagship 4/3 film camera... and they made it so.

The good reason why there is no 25p in the GH2 is that they didn't even think that the GH2 would be used for what its 'going' to be used for. For them- its like watching a car crash in slow motion.

What did @VK say? Something like Panny being a bad mother that is now in a Hotel room making another baby? There was also a photo...
  • well i guess they really don't give a s**t..
    but still- maybe there IS a logical reason for, let's say,
    not being able to put a native 25P where there's a native 24P? (just on GH2, not AF100 with different hardware)..
    or am i talking nonsense?
  • @rozroz
    There is logical reason - money.If you do not know what is going on, it's always about the money
  • but if so, then it's still some kind of a software issue ?
    or they basically built the GH2 hardware specifically this way in the first place ?

• My GH2 box has PAL on it. So I do feel like I've been "done"! However, it's still a great camera.