Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Official Final Cut X topic, moving to ARM and vlogging
  • 405 Replies sorted by
  • @oneday - you can do a lot with keyboard shortcuts in FCP X. Even more than in FCP 7. You will still need to use the mouse (and yes a Wacom tablet is way, way better!) - as you did in FCP 7.

I am a professional (high-end) editor and I have been using FCP (4-7) for the past 8 years. I really like X, even though I continue to use 7 for my daily editorial job. For anything else - especially for cutting DSLR footage - FCP X is a dream come true.

Apple will not abandon the "pro" community. It'll take a few more updates to give us most of what we need (how about "copy/paste attributes"?!?!?!?!) - but the foundation is great and @5thwall is absolutely right - people with little to no editing experience pick up FCP X in no time. It's a huge learning curve for us long-time NLE users. How do you make the transition to something like X in a high-stress environment, when lots of people collaborate on different projects on tight deadlines? That's going to be the biggest challenge for Apple.

• @arvidtp yes, it defaults to linear. but try doing a linear move. it still does it as ease-in ease-out. at least it did for me. curious to hear how it works for you.

• What i really like so far about FCP X is the imported media management. It will generate all the transcoded files, proxy, analysis and render files or whatever, and when you're done with the project you can just dump them. If you ever need to work on the project again, it will automatically recreate them, no questions asked.