Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
  • Anyone who is on a tight budget and really wants to spend their money where it counts might benefit from this. I am not a professional photographer and I don't do event shooting or any other type of situation where I'm getting paid to shoot photos/video. Its just myself and a small crew who are into shooting short films. I try to spend what little money I have on the camera and sound gear and improvise using DIY lighting, dollies, rigs, etc...That being said, I really don't care if someone notices that I'm using a VHS box and cut up plastic blinds for a matte box..its only the finished product I care about.

This is also a prototype, there are many ways this can be improved, but its fully functional in its present state. Sorry for the lousy photo, but my Canon Powershot is half dead. I still need to do a few adjustments such as replace my plastic and rubber mounts with metal plates, spray the matte box with a flat, non-glare paint, attach a black elastic bag between the matte box and lens so when I use smaller lenses there will be no light seeping through on the sides, etc.

If anyone is interested, I'll give you the full details. The whole thing was built using these two racks and scraps of items I found laying around in my garage/tool room. It holds my GH2, and Juicedlink nicely. I have my NTG-3 on a boom pole ($17), so there is no mic support arm. It would be easy enough to attach one.

Rig.JPG
    2272 x 1704 - 677K
    Juicedlink rack.jpg
    400 x 400 - 28K
    ladder hook cam.jpg
    500 x 500 - 14K
  • 9 Replies sorted by
  • I'd like details, thanks. Any chance you could link to the items online, for example home depot?