Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Zoom H1 vs Rode Videomic
  • I'm just learning about this stuff, so be gentle with me, please.

Thinking about improving audio with my GH2. Originally I thought that for low-budget, okay, cheap (just a hobby for me), that the Rode Videomic would be a nice option.

Then I start reading here about audio recorders, and take a look at the Zoom H1. Seems pretty neat, and cheaper than the Videomic!

Now I wonder, why would anyone choose the Videomic over the H1, for a budget option? If I understand things correctly, the H1 offers more capability. You could mount it on the camera and run line-in to camera AND have headphone monitoring (with a splitter), or you could take it off the camera altogether for interviews, or attach a separate mic to it like a lav mic. Am I correct? Am I missing something?

• 4 Replies sorted by
  • The Zoom H1 has cardioid capsules in an X-Y stereo configuration. That's better for music and ambiance. The VideoMic is a mono hyper-cardioid mic. That's better for subjects in front of the camera, and indoor shooting.

The Zoom H1 has no built-in anti-shock mount. That's a problem. You'll need to build or buy something if you want to mount the Zoom your camera and you are holding the camera in your hands. (on a tripod it makes no difference) The VideoMic has a built-in shock mount. It might not be the greatest shock mount, but it's probably good enough.