Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Choosing mikes for vocal and voiceovers
  • 117 Replies sorted by
  • @Shaveblog

Like your post :-)

It makes me to remember local talking motherfuckers (TV and radio) who search for perfect mikes ignoring the fact that they sound horrible on any of them.
  • @Vitaliy

I used to work as a broadcast engineer. All the on-air talent bitched about the mics, it was a given. After churning through $$$ mics/compressors/processors I learned that the only thing talent really wants at the end of the day is brickwall compression and a hump at 100Hz for that crappy boomy "balls" sound. Once you give them that, any mic is great with them.
  • I think there is a bigger difference among mics than GH2 patches, ppl are just cwazy about gear.
    Plus ribbon mics can sometimes make an awful voice or instrument sound decent. That's worth something.
  • We used to do a trick sometimes on sound desks - when a producer was wanting that last ounce of quality: turn one of the knobs clockwise, slowly, while looking thoughtful. Then you'd stop turning it when you'd got it "just right". Then say "how's that?" and they would be happy. Of course, the thing you were adjusting wasn't doing anything at all - but they were happy. Although I was once caught out by one person who said "I don't think increasing the clean feed level will do anything". Usually it did the job though. If you could find an otherwise useless button you could make light up, even better!
  • @Mark_the_Harp

Best trick to use indeed. Most people can't hear small sonic differences, so it's best to put their mind at ease.
  • Best trick is to hook it up to a Lexicon 96 :)