Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS
  • Hi,

I'm opening a new thread here as I realize that much of the basic information for absolute GH2 hacking beginners is quite hard to find in this forum (going through this right now myself), and even the "Basics and Beginners" forum preassumes some knowledge that, entering this field, again is hard to find.

I would like to compile a baisc guide with procedures and definitions, and grow it as we go along. I (and beginners like me) would be very endebted to you verterans if you could look over these postings and let us know if the assumptions are indeed correct.

If you guys "greenlight" the information (and/or add to it / correct it), we can then file on it, make it more specific, and even more user friendly.

I realize that much of this must be a kindergarden excersise for most of you… but please, do help us to grow up!

And: THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR WORK!

___

Here is the first set of what I believe to have understood - please to have your way with it!:

(1)
    The GH2 Firmware v1.0E is the current hack for the GH2 firmware. It allows to change bitrate settings (that are fixed in the factory settings), as well as other manipulations that Panasonic locked in their version.

(2)
    A "patch" is a specially formatted text document (ending with .ini) that contains a unique set of user-defined bitrate and other settings. Many creative useres on this forum have been extensively playing around with the numbers in these settings, trying to find a balance between stability (i.e. no crashes, freezes, drops etc.) and highest possible image quality - sometimes knowingly sacrificing some of one to benefit the other.

(3)