Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Converting from HD to SD for DVD
  • Submitting to Film Festivals and they are accepting SD DVD only.

What is the best method of conversion, I seem to be losing a lot of quality with what I am doing, but I am a newbie in this.

I am using Adobe Premiere, thanks

• 14 Replies sorted by
  • There are several existing topics on this subject. Search.

• I wish film festivals would get their shite together. 1080 has been around for how many years?

• Export an SD version of your timeline. I know nothing about your project codec, res, etc. Prores422 (Mac) / MotionJPEG (Mac or PC) will work fine, throw into DVD Studio Pro / Adobe Encore. Burn with a high quality 2-pass preset.

• Export an SD version of your timeline.

Depending on your NLE, this may produce mediocre results. For instance, Vegas does a lousy job straight from timeline. TMPGenc is cheap and does a great job. Virtual Dub is good and it's free. Dunno about Macs -- they're kind of commie computers anyhow...

• Best solution. Export from timeline at full resolution. Encore will do the compression, but if your movie 24p, you need change Transcoding Settings for this file (right click on clip at Encore bin) Change settings - create new preset 23.976p (progressive!) 720x480 16x9 with desired bitrate CBR - OK. Encore always do recompress to 24p, so don't import SD resolution!

• @brianluce - Some of us comrades running FCPX export as Apple ProRes 422, convert to DV with MPEG Streamclip, then reimport to FCPX and Share to DVD. We have a secret menu choice to keep the hidden hammer and sickle logo on our Mac's from showing up.