Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
DJI Lidar support for Lumix GH5M2 and GH6 with DJI RS3 Pro gimbal
  • Great. But not.

So.... RS3 Pro is $900 and the Lidar module is $600, a whopping total of $1500. I have a few DJI gimbals, RS2 and RS3 Mini, which both can't support the Lidar module, so this is a toss. Also the RS3 Pro is a heavy and large gimbal which supports up to 4.5 kg payload. Overkill for most GHx cases. So, I can get the PDAF focus G9M2 in a few weeks for a few 100's more and use on my RS3 Mini and get the added benefits of the latest sensor performance and processing. As well as the more light weight gimbal. It really doesn't add up for me personally. And hoping for a GH7 announcement soon in any case.

This Lidar stuff would have been super like 5 years ago.

Undoubtedly someone which owns both the GH6 and the DJI RS3 Pro would find this more exiting news I would guess.

394540733_738393244999059_8136340406627945509_n.jpg
    1080 x 1350 - 421K
  • 5 Replies sorted by
  • Issue with lidar is that it requires good resolution, high speed and also AI backend. Does it have all of this?

And such thing must be pretty cheap.

• Requiring the gimbal is a massive fail

• Actually, I have general issues with gimbals. As this guys keep releasing new models and after them another batch of new models. Each part is different. It is like some stoned party production.

• @Xenocide38