Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Bad 3rd party battery can cause weird behaviour or shutting off.
  • I have been testing out the new 'unhackable' hack for my 2011 GH1 and I noticed something very wierd. The camera kept shutting off. Sometimes I would turn it off and on and still nothing, it would not restart either sometimes. I then took the camera off the tripod and turned it off and on and it worked again. I said to myself "this is wierd", so I put it back on the tripod and screwed in the tripod grip regular tight again, and it didn't turn on. I then thought "it must be the pressure between the tripod and the camera", so I loosened the grip knob until the camera could move a bit and immediately it turned on again. I then tightened the grip a tiny bit again, and it immediately shut off and would not turn on. So I figured out this problem was directly related to the camera being normally gripped on the tripod.

This appears to be related to some kind of pressure sensitivity of the battery itself as it is a 3rd party battery, and I was having it shut off randomly off the tripod a couple times too, but I did notice this specific action always produced it shutting off the camera so it may help out those who can't figure out why this is happening, perhaps thinking it is a hacked camera setting, when it may just be how tight your camera is on the tripod. (In other words I could not even have it at normal tightness with the 3rd party battery, which kind of defeats the purpose of a tripod if I wanted to pan it wouldn't pan correctly since the thread was not tight enough into the camera to keep the camera on snug.